Food Culture: Should We Criticize Others?
What is sea cat? Always heard people talking about it, might haveeaten it as a child, when me never know better
Leave a comment:
Many Jamaicans eat the testicles and...cods of various animals, convinced they will benefit in the bedroom.
Always wondered...Grace Cock Soup, what is that made of? Foreigners get a huge laugh when they see those packets!
And what about cow skin?
Historian, mi nuh eat none a dem tings dat yuh list. Okay, I will take some chicken foot soup, but di foot dem better not be in the container!
Leave a comment:
All I know that Andrew have a good stomach! Some things I see that man eat.
So far there is only one thing I see Andrew couldn't eat and it is a fruit somewhere in Asia.
Leave a comment:
The travel channel already didOriginally posted by Historian View PostYep. I didn’t take my post too seriously, but nevertheless the fact is that Jamaicans, like other cultures, do eat some strange things indeed!! Islandman, if you have the time and can think of some other strange things we eat, feel free to post them, boss
I know that the list is longer than those in my post (lol). I’m wondering when The Travel Channel’s crazy guy, Andrew Zimmern (“Bizarre Foods”) will visit Jamaica?
www.youtube.com/watch?v=i9pxMsgK3X8
Leave a comment:
Does any other people in the world eat ackee? It is one of my favorite foods and I would eat it seven days a week
Leave a comment:
Re: I recall seeing a young lady
You sure got that right, and I fully share your view on this matter (lol)! Under normal circumstances, it’s stressful enough trying out strange food, but at a major championships it becomes a very silly idea with, in many cases, severe consequences for the athlete.Originally posted by Sickko View PostI recall seeing a young lady throw away her soup screaming after she discovered a chicken foot in the bottom of the bowl from which she was drinking, poor child was traumatised by the 'claws" she saw sticking up.
And ackee has always been strange for people who have not grown up here as well
As I said in another post I am wiling to try new foods but I am not sure that after preparing for the World Champs as an athlete and maintaining a certain diet that i would want to start eating all these new foods all of a sudden.
If as Grace said there was predominantly South Korean food at the food stations, that cannot be right
Regarding ackee, not many West Indians would eat it, although many of the brave ones do, and sometimes even become attached to it, in fact. But I suspect that most regional people will approach ackee with a great deal of hesitancy. I’ve seen people from Guyana, on one occasion, gracefully accept ackee and codfish dinner, and when the host was not around, promptly dumped the dinner (lol). At the same time, they enjoyed the chicken and rice from the same host.
Ackee, without question, is a Jamaican specialty
Leave a comment:
Re: All in good fun
Yep. I didn’t take my post too seriously, but nevertheless the fact is that Jamaicans, like other cultures, do eat some strange things indeed!! Islandman, if you have the time and can think of some other strange things we eat, feel free to post them, bossOriginally posted by Islandman View PostAll in good fun. You are correct we eat some things that others would get an upset stomach just thinking about!
I know that the list is longer than those in my post (lol). I’m wondering when The Travel Channel’s crazy guy, Andrew Zimmern (“Bizarre Foods”) will visit Jamaica?
Leave a comment: