Originally posted by Lazie
View Post
I wonder if you have ever lived through a JLP or any other PNP reign? If you did you would have seen that both parties have come up with good 'talk' from time to time...and, abject failures that slowly devour us over time.
Just look at these few programs -
JLP's Edwin Allen - growth of technical high schools
PNP's Michael Manley - Free Eductaion for all
JLP's Robert Lightbourne - emphasis on import substitution of finished products with the so-called "screw-driver" industry - value added product - in manufacturing...as complementary to our agricultural base.
PNP's - programs to rationalise agriculture - production through to marketing (Remember the AMC - Agricultural Marketing Corporation?)
Look at various government's efforts to open up the tourism products to locals and to build on the pitiful early efforts when visitors were numbered in the hundred of thousands in the '50s to the millions who now visit.
Look at the Railway corporation's neglect under both "P's" and the demise of same.
Look at the rise of the garrisons? Who introduced the garrison to the Jamaica landscape?
JLP!
...and, who took the idea of that one garrison and 'run wi hit'?
PNP!
...and, what are we reaping from these garrisons? Bloodshed in the inner cities and excursions into the wider society of mayhem...and, the warping of the minds of our young all across the island. - Pox on both JLP and PNP houses here!
Neglect and or lack of expansion of road system, water system, sewage sytems...etc. - both as a result of PNP and JLP apathy.
...what of the indiscrimate construction of houses and other buildings? No plans to properly construct...continue construction of our cities and towns? - occurred over time under both "P's".
...and, on and on...
Walk up to the plate and wake up, boss! Call a spade a spade!
Cut the crap about merely changing one of the "P's" for another will suddenly change the hearts and minds of our people and dream that the multitude of areas needing immediate attention will suddenly find the funding...be funded to the U$ trillions of dollars that is needed. ...cut the crap about any "P" being able to solve all our problems overnight.
Aside:
When last the wife and I were in Jamaica (last Summer) we visited the Noel Holmes hospital in Lucea, Hanover. Three of our boys were born in that hospital (late '60s-early '70s)...Dr. Arthur Wint was our physician...what we saw was a crumbling poorly run, underfunded institution...but, in the 60s and 70s when we utilised the services of the institution it was also in a state of being 'run-down' and it was under-funded. 'Time' got it where we saw it!
I visited Manning's High school (student late '50s early '60s), Munro College (student early '60s)...both institutions had much better physical plants when I was a student. They where both underfunded in my school days...and, they are still underfunded and both have had their physical plants deteriorate. They could be said to be in a state of disrepair. ...and, so it was with Rusea's High School where I taught in '60s-early '70s period. Guess what? We have had both JLP and PNP governments during the intervening years!
Lazie: Point being under both "P's" there has been good talk...and...????
...and, who are those who rule as PNP and JLP MPs? If as I believe, that in Jamaica there is only 'one degree of separation'...then, we are all extremely closely connected...then, the failures and under fulfilling of potential must be 'fi wi fault'. Certainly it must be those failures and that under fulfilling of potential would then be more our collective fault than any small...minute group of sixty? Right?
...eeerrrrrr???? Lazie, yuh wake up yet...walk toward the plate, yet? (rueful smile)
Leave a comment: