Your All-Time Favorite Soca Record?

You must be taking the 70's, calypso corner on my Murphy radio was in the 50's about 7PM.

Peter you disappoint me.
      1. Jean and Dinah is classic Sparrow CALYPSO before the advent of Soca - it was about two ladies of the night during WW2.
      2. Ethel by Blue Boy (now Superblue is probably closer to the crossover period in the early eighties).
      3. Kitchener will roll in his grave if he heard you call his song Soca. Another calypso classic written especial for the the steel drum..Panorama really..
      4. Tiney Winey was hugely popular and had much success...I think written by Arrow's brother (or sung by him)...won't swear on it...but certainly a song most could empathize with...could probably make the list....
      5. Nani Wine? - hmm.....maybe more sentiment that music...lol..

Well Allan Magnus was on radio since the 60's (I think) through the 80's (at least).
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I think the man is still on the radio Jangle!

What??? Impossible!!!!
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

He asked for Soca/Calypso... never mind the headline; in the body he also said "traditional calypso". I know none of my picks was Soca... nani wine I just threw in there ..a moment of madness... maybe a bit of chutney?! inna de blood?

LOL!

Baddaz, Mr Rooster was sung by "The Tradewinds" a group formed in Toronto. I didn't know that, I always thought they were from some small island or another. The members came from a number of islands and lead singer is Guyanese. Anyway, according to their website they still perform.
                  http://www.dtradewinds.com/history/

Okay, Boss

Originally posted by TDowl View Post
                    Why me? I just point out that that tune was before Soul Calypso(Soca), anyhow I will come up with something later, my three teams were KO in the WC, Mexico, USA & Costa Rica, I am not fully recovered as yet.
                    TDowl, I didn’t mean to sound so harsh, but I responded in the context that my list represented BOTH calypso and soca. I had stated this clearly in my opening sentence.

And yes, I understand how you feel about those three CONCACAF teams being eliminated. I too was hoping that at least one would make the semi-finals, but since this has never before happened, I am disappointed but not particularly surprised.

You're Absolutely Correct, Peter!

He asked for Soca/Calypso... never mind the headline; in the body he also said "traditional calypso". I know none of my picks was Soca... nani wine I just threw in there ..a moment of madness... maybe a bit of chutney?! inna de blood?
                      Welcome back, Exile!!!

Peter’s point is correct: he was simply following my explanation of the criteria. While my subject line was limited to soca, in my opening statement/explanation I had said BOTH soca AND traditional calypso.

Thanks, Boss

Square One and Krosfyah are Bajan bands...but I think you know that. Square One broke up I believe after Allison Hinds left.

Ever heard of Exile One? from Dominica? I used to like listening to this band (not just because of the music alone) but also because I was fascinated by the "french creole" language, and I had a very good friend from Dominica...
                        Lol. You’re correct in that I knew that both Krosfyah and Square One are Bajan, but during my typing above I temporarily forgot that fact.

Thanks for pointing out the correction.

And no, I have never heard of Dominica’s Exile One, but I definitely will search for their music online today. I will definitely also try to kind the great Lord Kitchener’s “Pan a Minor”. Those are my personal assignments.

Did you get a chance to listen to "Pan in A Minor"?

I don't know why but that song I really like, regardless of genre, big chune from Lord Kitchener!

Peter R, that chune is the first in my line up. please, mi soon come back wid de list...

The Grand Master - Pan in A minor http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MVCUdjI0CLk

Grandmaster - sugar bum bum http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yGYLvp2w9A4

Scrunter - woman on the bass http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=23KzZgSM9yY

Duke - Thunder http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IizX-cnOV_Q

Tambu - No No we eh going home http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YyCAs3UPLv4

Black Stalin - Blackman feeling to party http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0zOqmG1Sfck

Shadow - Dinglolay http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bil764A1XxQ

Machel Montano - Big Truck http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5zc4oNyEi8g

Kevin Lyttle - Turn me on http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...ad.php?t=64985

Destra - Who the hell is Kim http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ETsvWCANJY

Bungi Garlin - Differentology http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L-s7D6pYqpQ

Brawta:

Tall Pree http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F1HI-4BQ4Vk