Your All-Time Favorite Soca Record?

Let see if ounno a bad bwoy, run de riddim....http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qCizr06UVq4.

Destra vs. TC

Originally posted by TDowl View Post
      Destra - Who the hell is Kim http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ETsvWCANJY
      Nice list, TDowl, and a fine mix of calypso and soca.

There is just one error: Destra Garcia did NOT sing the song you selected (“Who the Hell is Kim”). That was recorded by Barbadian soca artist TC.

Historian you got me on Destra, I saw TC perform that song at a club in the West Mall on one of my Carnival trips.

You ever listened to this interpretation of Kitchener by Arturo Tappin?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s3_mNU8RHIs

With the greatest of respect for Dean Frazier, in my view Tappin is the best saxophonist from the Caribbean.

Yes I Did!

Did you get a chance to listen to "Pan in A Minor"?

I don't know why but that song I really like, regardless of genre, big chune from Lord Kitchener!
            I just saw your question, Peter.

Yes, I listened to Lord Kitchener’s “Pan in A Minor”. I’ve never heard it before, but this is clearly traditional calypso at its best! Kitchener was certainly the grand master of calypso, and the dude could dance as well (lol).

His steel pan player in the live performance I listened to is a very tasteful player, and overall, I now understand your high opinion of this particular song!

(Link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MVCUdjI0CLk )

Looking at the other Lord Kitchener numbers, I just saw the popular “Take You Meat Out Me Rice”. I had forgotten about this oldie!

Thanks for introducing me to this song.

Never heard that version of "Tehlehleh" before. Yes, Arturo Tappin is a boss on the sax. He's from Barbados. That song by Kitchener is also a good one, as was "Sugar Boom Boom" which I just remembered. Kitchener was a great calypsonian no doubt.