Mobay corruption

• Mobay corruption

I am happy to see the past commissioner saying that the cops are involved. I lived in Mobay for a little bit of my adult life and I found it to be very corrupted.
    The city is small and everybody know everybody. It was no secret when capture land was been sold, you just had to come up with a smalls. The police was involved in most things in my opinion. Top officials look the other way.

My friend Johnny also from my hometown, mi former domino partner was killed in the early 2000s. He was a cop and he and his girlfriend was sprayed with bullets and not even a suspect was held, knowing that police took their fellow officers death serious. How is it a criminal could be acting out of a police station? Not to mention police holding suspects in their jeeps and asking for money or charge. I hoped that things would have changed over time but it seems to get worst.

I remember talking to a brethren in Portland and I said "It good that they transfer the police so things will change" and I remember him replying "them a send more fi come make their money". Now put that in context in Mobay and until the people start to speak out and demand more things will remain the same. I know I maybe challenged by some Mobayites but this was my observation based on my little time in Mobay. I had a few friends in the force and other little position to decide this for myself.

It's no coincidence that Mobay the "Tourism Capital" is the most violent, corrupt, backward thinking place in Jamaica. The place is suffused with warehouses serving fat tourists, ghettos warehousing semi-literates, ghetto ideologies rampant, drug dealers, lotto scammers and assorted criminals running wild.

There's a symbiotic relationship between low skill level tourism being the "main industry" and all those negative features Johnny. Sad to say...That's how a Jamaica completely dominated by a low skill level tourism industry serving say 6-8 million tourists would appear.

Mobay is the future you aspire to for JA

All aboard the Trinket Train!!!
    Last edited by Don1; July 16, 2016, 02:33 PM.

and Kingston, Spanish town and May Pen??? What happening in Mobay don't have much to do with tourism but gwaan use it fi suit your dead argument.

How much violence in Grand Cayman and Bridgetown?

It have a lot more to do with the BPO.
      Last edited by Assasin; July 16, 2016, 07:48 PM.

Sorry Johnny but Mobay proves that tourism doesn't move the development needle much at this juncture in Century 21. New and more powerful economic drivers are required and the foundation is much better education.

Tourism is too low skilled and low value adding. It's a matter of mathematics Johnny. The numbers tell the story.

JA needs to continue the tourism ting to absorb the low skill workers and earn some FX.....But to really drive progress JA must PRIORITIZE investment in higher value add knowledge industries.

Otherwise the future looks like Mobay today....a calamity
        Last edited by Don1; July 16, 2016, 08:59 PM.

nothing beat you chatting your intelligent fart.

Look like yuh hurt Johnny

The truth hurts sometimes. ...but nuh tek it personal. Ah nuh your fault dat tourism suh low skilled Johnny

Nobody expert or analysts have said tourism has played any major part in crime in Montego Bay. Port Antonio was once the capital of tourism and there was no crime there. Crime in Ochi is limited. Annotto Bay St.Mary and Port Maria St. Mary which have nothing to do with Tourism have more crime than Port Antonio or St. Elizabeth South Coast.

Globally there is no analyst who will tell you tourism is a major factor for crime. Yes there is the debate about casino but that is the only factor. Is Mexico crime fueled by Tourism??? Don't even bother answer. Check Dubai, Cayman, Barbados, Singapore and so many countries with major tourism but check Caracas, so may central and South America city without tourism and you will see your own crap can't sell.

As I said spew your intelligent crap, you have no evidence to prove it. One could argue if Kingston had more tourism it would provide more jobs and less crime. Again gwaan spew your crap and tell yourself a so it go.
              Last edited by Assasin; July 17, 2016, 09:59 AM.

Johnny you continue with the emotional and personal attacks. Why Johnny?? This is a mere exchange of ideas. It's not a good look Johnny...but I'm trying to keep it civil

I'll break it down for you again Johnny...
                Jamaican tourism is obviously DOMINATED by very low level jobs...cleaners, cooks,wait staff, assorted servants, taxi drivers and trinket sellers. Johnny a butler is seen as a really "good job" in tourism circles..as you have intimated.

Mind you Johnny..I'm not disrespecting honest, necessary work that is a lifeline for so many. I'm just describing the job profiles in macroeconomic terms with a mission of overall economic prosperity.

Johnny compounding the low skill/low value add issues...given Jamaica's security scenario most tourists remain in and spend their money mainly within hotels. So the beneficiaries are largely merchants with little trickling out to locals. This is not so in most destinations Johnny. In secure countries most money is spent in the local economy outside hotels. So their economic picture from tourism is totally different.
                So Johnny your comparison of JA with safe countries constitute FALSE EQUIVALENCY

Johnny this economic scenario may be ok for the 1960s or 1970s...but unfortunately we're in the 21st century. So this scenario is BACKWARD

So Johnny this is how that low skill, low value add job scenario plays out in 21st century macro-economic terms:

* If an economy in today's Knowledge Age is DOMINATED by low skill-driven industry....it will be and remain backward as long as such domination persists.

* As long as economic backwardness persists in JA.....it will be unable to compete effectively on global markets and devoid of prosperity except for the ownership class & their associates

* With economic prosperity IMPOSSIBLE in that low skill environment...consequently crime and social dislocations will be rampant.
                As is clearly evident in tourism-dominated Mobay

Now Johnny the fault is not tourism per se. It's a vital industry for JA at this time and should should continue. The fault lies with generations of political and business leaders who have FAILED to prepare Jamaica for the Knowledge Age we're in.

Consequently Johnny the baseline fix to Jamaica's long term problems STARTS with a massive investment in 21st century-focused education. Which is why seeing something like a "tourist sightseeing train" as "critical infrastructure" is an exercise in complete IDIOCY

The most critical upgrades (apart from security) needed in JA for prosperity is the WORKFORCE SKILL LEVEL IMPROVEMENT. That will help drive investment in higher value add industries which can give JA a shot at prosperity..eventually.

That's an education functionality Johnny...not a function of how better to serve tourists in or out of trains

But it's idiocy that runs JA....so the backwardness will no doubt continue.

Suh GWAAN BARTLETT indeed
                Last edited by Don1; July 17, 2016, 01:12 PM.

Wi bettah halt trying to bring 'low skill level' Tourism to Kingston.. if tings bad now.. can imagine when man start find sumting fi duh oddah dan rub dem hand miggle !!

Armageddon !

Yuh ah waist tuh much time on Tourism.. yuh need to spend some time on di low skill farming ting !

Mi hear seh dem ah try encourage man fi farm.. dig up soil and plant food..

Ah wheh Di ?!!

where did I personally attack you? show me where. I said you are talking crap.

Show me any analysis, stats or anything to support your theory to support the fact that tourism bringing violence to Mobay or anywhere else.

You can gwaan with your long argument. Everyday I speak about upgrading the tourism skill level. As I have said Jamaica needs about 4 or 5 major stream for development.

Tourism in Jamaica is under develop as we continue to make earnings slip through our hand and giving away ownership but what is new, it is the same people who haven't develop tourism to its potential are failing at developing logistic hub, are failing and have failed to educate and train their children, have failed to train them in science and technology. It is not a failure of tourism, something you fail to see.

I haven't much more to say to you on this subject, just continue hit out at tourism at every opportunity you get and blame it for our leadership failure.
                      Last edited by Assasin; July 17, 2016, 09:52 PM.

Agreed!

But Johnny you misunderstand. I clearly stated that I don't blame tourism for JA's failure.

I blame leaders for allowing us to be so dependent on low level tourism in the Age of Knowledge
                          As long as that dependency persists Jamaica will be backward.

That's a criminal failure to prepare by neglecting proper education.

Capice?
                          Last edited by Don1; July 17, 2016, 11:27 PM.

Well I disagee based on the fact that I have heard it(Mr Speaker,a tell dem sey dem mus werk de land) before from Michael Manley,and we were told there isn't anything good about him,that's just rantings from the 70's socialists..
                            Wasn't it such utterings that led that Yew fellow to his opinion that Manley was quixotic?

leaders are not the main engine that develop tourism, they have under develop it in so many case, something you will not understand. Jamaicans invest their money and now Spanish, Mexican and now Chinese a follow the Americans and Western Europeans a eat a food out of us.

Ownership is key.