John Barnes is at the top of the list

He certainly had limitations, like no money!
    Money for what? Just develop the abundant local talent that we have. How much could that cost? See my point now?

See my point now?
      Not sure if I ever will!

yes bass...hehehehee

Mek mi dumb it down for you. Jamaica has an abundance of talent but not the coaches to nurture the talent. CB has every opportunity to nurture the local talent. Just do it

SIGH...what is his coaching pedigree again? Or maybe he is not been hired to get the team forward, if in fact he is really being considered, as much as his presence will keep the corporate contributors interested.

My question is that Barnes is based ion England and he will be able to get some of the names there that we hear about but what will he know about the local players that we must have if we are to develop the football holistically instead of continuing this madness of grafting in players with tenuous connection to the country.

I guess they don't think Theodore Whitmore can command the respect from those who write the big cheques.

you still havent answered my question. Forget about Downswell and Whitmore, what is CB's claim to fame.
              President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

He certainly had limitations, like no money!
                And he wont get any money if he returns. I suppose being able to attract funds to the programme is one of the pre-requisites for being a successfull TD in Ja.

I wonder if tappa would attract money to the programme if he takes over?
                President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

you honsetly think that at 36/37 theodore whotmore has the requisite experience to lead a national football programme? the man was just playing football profesisonally a couple seasons ago. While he is a good prospect, he is still learning his trade.

Let me ask you what does John Barnes bring to this job..in CONCACAF and with less then a month to go, that Tappa don't have?

Do you know for a fact that John Barnes has kept up to time with Jamaica's football? If you did not know that Earle Bailey left the JFF four years ago, you think John Barnes knows the name of three players in this Reggae Boys team and how they play?

Or are you just going off the name John Barnes who two or three life times ago was an outstanding football player and about 50 years ago attended high school in Kingston.

Tell me again what does John Barnes take to the job that Theodore cant?

Not a dime! Sorry, not a 10 cents!

Bossman, why are you giving me this long lecture? I knew Earle Baily left the JFF a long time ago, but I thought he was re-hired recently...just a case of me mistaking him for Nodley Wright.

Now on the John barnes issue. Unless the JFF brings in a coach from Jamaica, chances are any new coach brought in from ovserseas will know very little about the Jamaica players. I am not trying to make a case for or against Whitmore or Barnes, I am just saying that Whitmore is ill-equipped at this time to run a national football programme (outside of the fact that he knows the players better than anyone else). Certainly if John Barnes doesnt qualify, Whitmore doesnt qualify either.

My cchoice for a short term coach is Whitmore/Barnes combo, to see us through to the next round. Then run the rule over them after November.

Something tells me that whoever Burrell brings in will NEVER get your support (outside of Whitmore).
                        Last edited by Reggae-Fan; September 15, 2008, 04:33 PM.

bruce just went to LA dont see him doing.. it .. Funny enouh Bora is the most prudent choice.... oh bwoy.

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                            bruce just went to LA dont see him doing.. it .. Funny enouh Bora is the most prudent choice.... oh bwoy.
                            Yuh know dem nah go eat crow twice in one year?

John Barnes

In talks for the reggaeboyz job......news broke on Skysports UK
                              “I am not a politician..I only suffer the consequences”.......Peter Tosh

Originally posted by Reggae-Fan View Post
                                Now on the John barnes issue. Unless the JFF brings in a coach from Jamaica, chances are any new coach brought in from ovserseas will know very little about the Jamaica players.
                                This is true, that is why we need to keep Tappa as the coach. However, we will still need to bring in a "John Barnes" for the TD slot so that we can continue to get the support of the private sector. Barnes can deal with the structure and long range planning for the program and utilise his
                                football connections to open up new avenues for our players.