Can't agree on paying Bora them big money deh for him one. Better them work with Tappa.
John Barnes is at the top of the list
NO WAY!!Originally posted by Assasin View PostI wouldn't mind Arena for a long term stint but not for three games as I don't know what he knows about the current players and he will force a totally different style of play which might cause the same problem that we currently have.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
...and precious little support! The JFF gets a thumbs down for their efforts at supporting the man!Originally posted by Mosiah View PostHe certainly had limitations, like no money!
As a coach, no one has even lookee at Barnes in eight years since Celttic kicked his a55 out the door, why should we go pick him off the scrap heap?Solidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death.
Don't let us over rely on statistics.
A lot of coaches are at the same technical level however what separates the sheep from the goat is that ability to extract the best from a certain combination of players.
Given the dynamics of the current scenario a big name coach may not be the best fit. Lets hope the decision makers consider all factors and make a good choice. Our job would then be to support......
Firstly, let's put this Celtic thing behind us. Which coach doesn't have bad results? Barnes record with Celtic is not as bad as some would have us believe. Other coaches have recovered from similar results because they have been given 2nd, 3rd and 4th chances. If we are going to condemn Barnes for that Celtic outing, we are no better than the racist owners in the UK. How many of Barnes' contemporaries have set the coaching field ablaze? How many of them have failed and then received several more chances?
Since then, Barnes has been a respected football commentator in Britain for years. Sunderland thought he knew enuff about football to send him searching for young academy players.
Barnes would have cost much less than Bora, Simoes and all the other high profile coaches.
Barnes would have pulled considerable private sector support. As a personality, you don't get much more high profile than that.
I believe Barnes would be less of a mercenary than some other coaches we have had. How necessary was Simoes extended team? Chico, the goalkeeper coach, is not much better than our Clyde Spider Wedderburn, if he's better at all. I don't believe we needed many of his team.
Barnes is Jamaican while still carrying that "farin" badge, the best of both worlds.
Barnes is still my choice if we need to go farin, which is what we might have to do since we will not give a local coach any respect.