Now I can say I have seen it all.

Originally posted by Westman View Post
    Actually, I think was Park, yes he was fouled. But he was so far from the ball which was going over the end line and he could not possibly catch it. Me nuh want nothing cheap gainst the KOP.
    If it was outside the box it would have been called so if its in the box it should be called. Penalty.

Westman you are contradicting yourself. If you say that the Park was fouled, in the box, then it matters not if he could have caught the ball. A foul inside the penalty box equals a penalty.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Like me seh, if a nuh julie mango, me nuh want nothing that no clearly 100% obviously striaght up.

A slight foul but the ball couldnt have been caught. Give an indirect or something but it was no penalty. Man U has contested these when given against them.

The experts can correct me here, but the only indirect kick within the 18 yard box I know of, is when a backpass is made to the keeper and he picks up the ball. Anything else is a penalty.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

The experts can correct me here, but the only indirect kick within the 18 yard box I know of, is when a backpass is made to the keeper and he picks up the ball. Anything else is a penalty.
              No, you can have an indirect inside the penalty box, obstruction, throw in to your own keeper, I think even dangerous play among others can all be given.

Before you agree with them, wait until you see it for yourself.

My take? The goalie fell into the path of the attacker, not purposely, but it happened. The attacker did not drag himself into the goalie (didn't have to). The collision could not have been avoided, unless, and this is a big unless, UNLESS the goalie had successfully reached the ball, and played it (handled it) before the attacker did.

That was not the case.

Result? PENALTY!

Red card? NO!

Originally posted by Warlord View Post
                  Friedel did make some contact with Torres but it wasnt malicious...
                  Argument done!

Penalties are not awarded only where there was malicious contact. Sometimes you can be "punished" just for being clumsy.

Tell, me Karl. How did the attacker fall head over heels?

Result? PENALTY! Red card? NO!
                      Agreed.

Craven, craven kill puppy dawg!

what are you saying..

Right, but he misses the next fixture which is crucially against the Evil ones. That is where the relevance comes into play.

Kingman, we cannot pick n choose which games could potentially be damaging. In the heat of the moment, the GK's job is to keep the ball out of the net. Friedel made contact wit Torres. Once contact is made wit the opposing player in a one on one situation like that it is an automatic red card. Im sure the referee wasnt thinking..oh wait Villa travels to Old Trafford next week so I cannot send Friedel packing. The right decision was made.

Before you agree with them, wait until you see it for yourself.

My take? The goalie fell into the path of the attacker, not purposely, but it happened. The attacker did not drag himself into the goalie (didn't have to). The collision could not have been avoided, unless, and this is a big unless, UNLESS the goalie had successfully reached the ball, and played it (handled it) before the attacker did.

That was not the case.

Result? PENALTY!

Red card? NO!

The card while harsh is very clearcut. I do agree though that had Friedel gotten the ball first then he wouldnt have been sent off. The opposing player in a situation like that more than often gets the call once contact is made.

Once contact is made wit the opposing player in a one on one situation like that it is an automatic red card.

Not true