• Sir X
    replied
    ]In Defense of Koman Coulibaly. Sort Of.[/font]
    By ANDREW DASThey say there is holding on every play in the N.F.L., but that the referees can’t call it every time because no one would watch. The same goes for free kicks in soccer.[/font]
    [FONT=georgia, 'times new roman', times, serif]Any fan of the game knows the drill: just before the kick is taken, the referee stalks into the scrum of players jostling for position in front of the goal and quickly slashes his hands across his chest in the universal symbol for any-more-shoving-and-I-will-pull-this-game-over-right-now-young-man-do-you-hear-me? He then marches back into position, slips his whistle back between his lips and mentally prepares to decide just how rough is too rough.[/font]
    [FONT=georgia, 'times new roman', times, serif]In that vein, I will tepidly come to the defense of Koman Coulibaly, likely the only Malian of whom American sports fans have ever heard. Mr. Coulibaly, as you may have heard, stands accused of cheating the United States national team out of a victory on Friday by disallowing an apparent goal by Maurice Edu late in the second half.[/font]
    [FONT=georgia, 'times new roman', times, serif]Since our justice system grants even the most incorrigible defendants the right to an attorney, consider me his public defender. Ladies and gentlemen, may I direct your attention to the photograph below:[/font]
    [FONT=georgia, 'times new roman', times, serif][/font]

[FONT=georgia, 'times new roman', times, serif]
    Luca Bruno/Associated Press

Exhibit A

The man you see in the left of the photo appears to be Slovenia central defender Marko Suler forward Necj Pecnic (anyone available as an expert witness?). The man you can clearly see grabbing him around the waist is his U.S. counterpart Carlos Bocanegra. That man on the right, No. 19, running into the open space Suler Pecnic can’t get to because Bocanegra has him in a bearhug? That’s Maurice Edu.
    (As Mr. Coulibaly’s lawyer, I will ask that you please ignore the citizen’s arrest in the foreground. That is an unrelated case.)
    Now please look at the next photograph.

Ivan Alvarado/Reuters

Exhibit B
    Please notice the two men in the foreground on the right, Bostjan Cesar (5) of Slovenia and Jay DeMerit of the United States. I think we can all agree that the Laws of the Game do not allow for that kind of contact during the run of play.
    O.K., seriously now. I think any objective fan can look at the two photos and agree that there was a lot going on during that free kick that isn’t allowed. So maybe some of us didn’t like what Coulibaly saw, or that he chose to pluck out a foul by a United States player instead of one against a United States player. But you can’t say nothing happened.
    The defense rests. And that’s just because it’s late and it’s been a long day.

[/font]

Now you can say offside or foul , can you honestly say nothing happened ?

Leave a comment:

• Zeppo
    replied
    Yuh embarassing yuhself right about now.
    Business as usual...

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    bredrin.. stap chat sexry pon di site.

If you cannot be objective on this matter just excuse yuhself.

Yuh embarassing yuhself right about now.

Leave a comment:

• Bricktop
    replied
    What are you talking about? On the free kick Altidore headed the ball down?

Leave a comment:

• Bricktop
    replied
    Go back and watch the ESPN commentary...why did the english commentator say that the flag was clearly up?

Leave a comment:

• Karl
    replied
    You realize that the linesman flag was up and then the ref blew the whistle right? Go back and listen to the commentator on ESPN
    Ooooh you were joking!
    Good one

Leave a comment:

• Karl
    replied
    Yes...
    You? ...

He was behind the ball (further from the goal-line than the ball was) when Josy Altidore headed it down!

Not off-side!

Did I not stir myself in Shady Pines and a few posts past give a lesson on OFF-SIDE?

Leave a comment:

• Bricktop
    replied
    Dem a get dem excuses in line man...nah talk bout the letoff dem get when Dempsey elbow di man in him face...but waan cuss di ref for blowing the whistle BFEORE the ball even reached Edu...small side, small minds...

Leave a comment:

• Islandman
    replied
    Looks like he got confused about who was grabbing who and called a foul.

Bad call. It happens.

Leave a comment:

• Lazie
    replied
    Good picture Zep , that guy where the Slovenia player has him in a bear hug , keep an eye on him before the ball was kicked, he did run into an offside position.

It was a good call by the ref but it could go either way.Time for the USA to get over it , Algeria awaits .

I hope England gets knocked out, its time the pictures and video focus on that guy before the ball was kicked......cut the B.S
    Stop yuh foolishness .... the ref got it wrong. According to the players he said it was a foul but didn't explain foul by who. If it was offside, wouldn't the linesman flag be up for everyone, including the players to see?

Unuh need fi stop mek up stuff, the US got robbed.

Leave a comment:

• Sir X
    replied
    Ref Coulibaly could face FIFA probe

By Soccernet staff

Malian referee Koman Coulibaly, the subject of vicious attacks in the US media after disallowing a late goal by USA in their 2-2 draw with Slovenia, could be asked to face FIFA's refereeing committee to explain his decision.

GettyImagesMaurice Edu fires into the net but his goal is disallowed

A FIFA source told a US newspaper that Coulibaly could be asked to clarify the reasons for his disallowing the 86th-minuteMaurice Edu goal even though there was general confusion for the reasons behind his decision.
    USA forward Landon Donovan said: "We asked the ref many times what it was or who it was on and he wouldn't or couldn't explain it. I don't know what to think of the call because I didn't see any foul, just a normal free kick and a goal."
    Referees must submit a written report to FIFA after each match, but there is no requirement to explain every decision. FIFA rules state: "On the report form the referee shall note all occurrences such as misconduct of players leading to caution or expulsion, unsporting behaviour by supporters and/or by officials or any other person acting on behalf of an association at the match and any other incident happening before, during and after the match in as much detail as possible."
    After the group stage, FIFA assess the performances of all officials and decide which ones to retain for the knockout stage of the tournament.
    "If [Coulibaly] is found to have made a serious mistake, especially one that affected the outcome, then he would be highly unlikely to play any further part in the tournament," an unnamed source said. "FIFA is determined to keep refereeing standards high and does not want high-profile mistakes."
    Coulibaly, 39, is one of Africa's most experienced referees and has been officiating for 17 years . Earlier this year he refereed the final of the African Cup of Nations between Ghana and Egypt.

Leave a comment:

• Sir X
    replied
    Good picture Zep , that guy where the Slovenia player has him in a bear hug , keep an eye on him before the ball was kicked, he did run into an offside position.

It was a good call by the ref but it could go either way.Time for the USA to get over it , Algeria awaits .

I hope England gets knocked out, its time the pictures and video focus on that guy before the ball was kicked......cut the B.S

Leave a comment:

• Zeppo
    replied

Leave a comment:

• Nemesis
    replied
    Here it is Video proof ....Offside .It could go either way, Keep your eye on the the closest yank to donovan .Whats funny about this is they have ((angles of)) Edu kicking the ball in all over ESPN , but none of Donovan before he he kicked the ball and the guy running into offside to be dragged back onside by a slovenia defender after the goal is scored, only the one angle....lolol....good ref !

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5zHRNYi41PA

You are either being disingenuous or you're just plain blind?

I refuse to believe that you thought that was a good call.

Leave a comment:

• Sir X
    replied
    Here it is Video proof ....Offside .It could go either way, Keep your eye on the the closest yank to donovan .Whats funny about this is they have ((angles of)) Edu kicking the ball in all over ESPN , but none of Donovan before he he kicked the ball and the guy running into offside to be dragged back onside by a slovenia defender after the goal is scored, only the one angle....lolol....good ref !

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5zHRNYi41PA

Leave a comment: