• Sickko
    replied
    Paget got too big for his britches, he actually told people at the Observer more than once that he was god...

As for Oliver Clarke, he maintains an office on the fifth floor at 7 North Street and he is there by 8am five days a week, make no mistake, he does meddle but not to the point of Butch.

For example any article about any campany owned by anyone on the Board but get his clearance first, these include SuperClubs or GraceKennedy.

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    There you go again..

Is one man stroking you ego and yuh ready fi buss ahready....

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    Check dis out !

"The list of high achievers does not end there because Edward Khoury, the managing director of another company in the Group (the Jamaica Observer), is slated to be the next president of the Jamaica Chamber of Commerce."

Oh no.. Butch Stewart is taking over Jamaica....

Maybe he can do a better job than the "politicians"

Leave a comment:

• Don1
    replied
    Can I use this response in the future? I will make sure to give credit where it's due.
    Happy to be of service to the massive.

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    Um.. and how exactly has Butch Stewart in his rise to the top negatively impacted the masses ?

I can find tons of data where 'Politicos' have SEVERLEY impacted the masses in their rise to the top...

Suh who should I fear ?

Who should I 'Reign In'

Heh, heh

Critical Thinking.. it helps to escape the trap of social programming.

Leave a comment:

• Baddaz
    replied
    couldn't have said this any better... thank you...

in support, i will submit this offering....

i've been an observer, no pun, of this growing phenomenon, whereas the butch stewart types, embolden with the knowledge that their colleagues hold the power, NOW believe that whatever initiative they would like to implement should be implemented regardless of the negative impact it may bring to the masses as long as it serves their interest...

i am willing to give bruce golding and his government the opportunity to move the country in a direction that will reap collective progress and prosperity for the masses... however, if 'the driver' is willing to stand back and not reign in his wealthy supporters at the expense of the peoples interests, then he will be contributing to the expansion of an underclass...

prior to and during the election period, 'the observer' has exposed itself to being a biased medium that promulgates the interests of its owner and his class...

the question is who will stand up and defend the peoples interest...

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    "They say that there are a million ways to kill a dog. A businessman doesn't need a license to import potatoes. So the political masters are scared of his fearless voice and his money.

They can't stop his potatoes from coming in, but they can cause them to smell stink. You can get your people on the wharf to slow down the processing of his papers.

By the time he gets his Irish vegetables, they are rotten and he has lost a lot of money. So he knows what is in store for him if he continues on his outspoken crusade.

A shop-keeper already has his permit from the City Council to sell food. But he can be charged for not keeping a clean environment. The Health Inspectors may want to examine his cooking utensils. He may be told that his building is not properly ventilated."

The problem in Jamaica is not the presence of a Butch Stewart.. the problem is there are NOT ENOUGH Businessmen with what they call 'FVCK YOU MONEY'

The PNP control of this country has been predicated on making sure we don't have too many Entrepenuers making money which could result in a very strong private sector.. PNP scheme has been centralizing power in the hands of a few.. the problem is this few have no PRODUCTIVE value to the country.

They can get away with this because they can always press the 'Anti Big Man Button' and sway the masses. This technology was developed by Michael '5 Flights a Day' Manley and preserves to this very day... once he opened that Pandoras Box.. Jamaica was doomed.. chained to the rock of mediocrity and underperformance.

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    Stop asking questions!

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    We had an effective market system for the last 18 years ????

Heh, heh.

Ah Bwoy.

Lee Kwan Yew commented on the 'fervor' you and other display.

Smart man that Yew. Read us like a book and predicted our current situation.

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    Umm, who weilded more power to affect the lives of ordinary Jamaicans ?

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    What we had was PNPism. Sparrow call it Capitalism gone mad.
    How can we not produce anything?
    How can we have no productivty growth or GDP growth
    Such high interest rate for the better part of 14 years
    Not t o mention the croynism or corruption without check and balances which allow all the public officals who commit crime off the hook.

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    I am not watching the red herring and nitpicking from the PNP. Not sure that 2 months are not enuff time to get some more done, however. There should have been a crime plan on September 4 as far as I am concerned!

Don't fall for that nonsense, Willi. We have gone thru to many decades of that. They will tell us that there is no better person for the job and have us believe that if anyone else is appointed then we have taken from the ignorami. Crap! Racism is built on such garbage when it ain't always true!

At the same time, it will be very difficult for our board members, and some chairpersons, to be entirely free some conflict of interest. But the Lynch case, even more soo than the Wehby case in my opinion, was a good one for McNeil to take up, and Butch had no right to trace him about it.

Leave a comment:

• Willi
    replied
    Willi, call it whatever, but from where I sit, you have taken on a very biased stance that it is near impossible to discuss and argue some points. We already have Maudib and Lazie on the Forum for such ridiculous responses. That air of impartiality and fairness seems nothing more than a deceptive cloak.

Hey, perhaps it's my own biases why I am now thinking this way. But at least I am even able to say that. With people like you, it is always "I am bound to no colour" or "I keep it real" when the reality appears so far from that.

It's sad because as a senior Forumite who has always been a voice or reason, calm, intellect and knowledge, I fear we may have lost our Willi.
    Hahahaha,

You have lost no one.

I am not bound by any colour, but you quickly forget my positions about the nurses and Smith, fo example. Similar to my position on the Peralto/Douglas seat.

What you fail to realize is that a lot of Red Herring and nitpicking has been going on about a Govt that in in power for 2 months.

Unless they make big errors I will not join the lynching mob. Especially when led by people who have committed MAJOR indescretion time and time again. These actions are still fresh in my mind and the beneficiaries are still running around materially better off than the hapless population.

As to the APPARENT conflicts of interest, they will have to be managed, as we cant afford to restrict appointments to the ignorami. REAL conflict are what concern me and we saw more than enough in the last 18 years. Time for the PNP to start earning its keep and stop crying wolf. They need to be watching for REAL violations. That is how they best serve our interest. JLP is not immune to having tiefs in their midst.

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    Willi, call it whatever, but from where I sit, you have taken on a very biased stance that it is near impossible to discuss and argue some points. We already have Maudib and Lazie on the Forum for such ridiculous responses. That air of impartiality and fairness seems nothing more than a deceptive cloak.

Hey, perhaps it's my own biases why I am now thinking this way. But at least I am even able to say that. With people like you, it is always "I am bound to no colour" or "I keep it real" when the reality appears so far from that.

It's sad because as a senior Forumite who has always been a voice or reason, calm, intellect and knowledge, I fear we may have lost our Willi.

Leave a comment:

• Willi
    replied
    Willi, that is true in whatever society. I would go further, but I see you are clad in your dirty green. No point.
    Or you feeding me red herring. LoL

Call them as I see them bredrin.

If you come with superior reasoning, i am open to changing my mind as I am bound to no colour!

Leave a comment: