Karl: Academy vs. Schools

No waste yuh time, just allow results to take its course.

The first flaw; at the youth level in Ja is technique. High schools cannot teach or improve on a player's technique (not enough time). Poor technique will kill you at the INT'L level. Mi done talk.
    Jawge that is not true!
    There is more than enough time. In my time the coaches themselves did not have or know the basics on technique...and up to recently when I visited in JA technique on kicking and passing was not being taught! ...neither was proper heading technique.

No one demonstrating how to properly kick a ball....or discussing use of head on passing/properly heading the ball.

The chest-trap?!
    The chest-pass?!
    Yes!

Attempts at fancy passing? ...highest level passing? Yes! ...but a waste if you have not mastered the most simple of passes. ...the control of the ball on the higher level passes will then be more 'buck-up' than consistently accurate.

Free-kicks --- well if you cannot kick properly then...????
    Goal-scoring? .....well if you cannot pass well...???

...and on and on...!
    Speed work?
    No!

Fast feet work?
    Not enough! ...so little can be considered...NO!

...endurance work?

High intensity! ...recovery! High intensity! ...recovery!
    Not much!

Teaching the game?
    Never! -- It is, duh wah mi seh...yuh mindless heediat!

We are talking about football,dont water down the subject, you admit its possible, certification is the Key,how the JFF and ISSA can setup that system to mandate only certified coaches in charge of manning cup teams or school boy football,is the issue , as for pay, who pays these T&F certified coaches at these athlethic power houses in high schools.

JFF should be focused on one thing , getting mass certifications for school boy football.T & F has done and been doing it for decades ,with little to no support.GC foster doesnt fall under the umbrella of the JAAA but they churn out certified teachers.Issa could mandate such a move by itself.

I cant see why not, a meeting of the minds , We had a coach at ardenne who was the PE teacher for pepsi and colts.

What if ISSA mandated all schools must have a certified coach and all schools must have a unified philosophy of how to play Jamaican football.

Nuff food for thought, granted it wont be a full fleged academy but its a huge step from nothing, i keep saying the JFF needs to have a stakeholders meeting.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I know because that's no fun. I wish I had the time to stick around and really disagree with you

So academics would be taught at nights? Yes?

Are the coaches in the US high schools certified?

That must be why Jamaica start to whip their ass in T&F.Think out of the box, Jamaica cannot look to a US system , we have to develop our own .Wi nuh rich.

THINK out of the box!

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

wi nuh rich THEREFORE the government should not take on this task (it nuh have nuh money) it should be private enterprise because it represents an investment in players and FIFA has in place a formaula so that the adademies/clubs can be compensated when the young players sign a professional contract.

government bruk, jff bruk .. .where is the money going to come from?

where schools can accept donations etc, we are talking about additional staffing and certification...neither of which is free.

Be reminded that T&F is not team sport consisting of eleven players with one objective.

Let me follow your logic: Certify all the coaches for football in the high schools of Ja. Thes coaches then tell their respective principals that in order for players (U14 and up) to fully grasp the rudiments of the game, they need to spend more time outside of the classroom (minimum 9am -3pm). Where would that leave academics? (the main thrust of all high schools in Ja).

We are talking about football,dont water down the subject, you admit its possible, certification is the Key,how the JFF and ISSA can setup that system to mandate only certified coaches in charge of manning cup teams or school boy football,is the issue , as for pay, who pays these T&F certified coaches at these athlethic power houses in high schools.

Track coaches are paid by alumni & sponsors the schools generate. It so happens that JA produces good-to-excellent track coaches via GC Foster & Dennis Johnson's Utech program.

So now we're to pay for certified football coaches? Why should we do this? The JFF should get GC Foster up to speed with football coaching... for example working with Brazil's Federation for expert assistance

National football development is a job for the JFF.... not schools and alumni financing. If the JFF requires something substantial from schools with active football programs... Show mi di money fuss. Schools are strapped for cash

Unfortunately the JFF has no development plan....except for Plan UB40

Whoa,hold on,don't we have sports colleges? Wasn't their talk of them setting up a certification program?.... Wi always bruk,it isn't stopping us from churning out T&F coaches.

It is possible, we have to be creative, the trick to me is having a system that isn't centralized in an academy but broad based like T&F,where knowledge spreads far,saturate the island like T&F,granted the Big schools will get the best certified coaches.

Sorry Gamma,we are making excuses to reinforce failures, to me,that's the most cost effective program,granted Jawge beg america fi set it up fi dem way.

That must be why Jamaica start to whip their ass in T&F.Think out of the box, Jamaica cannot look to a US system , we have to develop our own .Wi nuh rich.

THINK out of the box!
                        10000% correct.

Good ting mi dun lay out dat out-of-the-box plan for youth development

A Building capacity for expert training of the trainers

B Establishing an academy appropriate to JA circumstances

C Improving the efficiency of the local school competition

Mi nuh oastan ow unnu nuh si di light yet

the Ivory Coast is rich?

there is a national t&f policy?! training someone to run a 100M is vastly different from training 18+ youngsters to play football (team vs individual).

X let us agree to disagree. it's best. we can agree that we want youth football to improve and progress, we disagree on how....

Logic would tell you each school would have to design their program to their needs, like T&F, your logic Dun ave yuh a compare american youths development to ours,they beat us from birth by first having a first world healthcare system,pre k system ,high school to college, yet you asking how the american kids do it, the question yuh should ask is giving all tha,t how we buss dem ass in T&F from the youths to the Adults,keep in mind the Adults recently start bussing dem Ass, out of ingenuity.

THINK !
                              Last edited by Sir X; February 2, 2015, 04:50 PM.

Paul: Why do you think that teachers of football

in schools are not football-specific taught?

Context: Jamaica
                                I have just come to the realization that what holds in our teachers colleges is not widely known.

- The average time spent at a teachers college on a specific sport/learning to gain subject knowledge and teaching - methods - ...I cannot accurately tell but I can say the college student who has such a subject as elective or option has classes running throughout a 2 year period.

More than ample time to gather the required subject knowledge and 'how to teach' same.

- The problems that prevent our footballers being developed on par with the top football nation has nothing to be with lack of player talent...but lack of sufficient quality teachers.

As fact, if my Mico class graduated 50 such in 1969...immediately on graduation 30 or so were not engaged in teaching the game and 90+% would never ever teach the game beyond 5 years.

The causes stemmed from:
                                - schools already had 'coaches' and the new graduates were not used in that area;

- the new graduates for one reason or another did not spend a day of teaching...private sector, immigration, etc.;

Usually within 5 years all would be away from teaching the game.

Conclusion: The principals met were never proactive on use of the new graduates in the area of sports and the number of graduates who remained in the profession were always few. (Look if it were not so...the numbers of graduates churned out by the colleges would have already created a graduate-teacher position jam...over-supply and consequent uproar).

Somehow the matter of having professional trained teachers of the game involved from the earliest of development of the kids must be given attention.

A simple self-test: Ask yourself when football was introduced to you at school were you given a formal lesson on the game?

Ask the most basic questions - Did you have a discussion with your teacher on "The easiest way to get by an opponent"?

How did you learn to kick a ball?
                                Are you sure you know the easiest way to pass a ball? Does it involve any particular position relative to the ball at the moment you strike same?

Did you practice passing into goal? ...with feet? ...with head? ...dead ball? ...ball rolled to you? ...the various directions and heights? ...ball rolling away from you? ...talked about keeping the ball on the ground? ...how to best accomplish that? (btw - Aside: Have you noticed that Sturridge often passes and the ball (too) often travels along a loop on the way to his teammate? Have you noticed that Sanchez often passes late...dwells on the ball too long...under hits or over hits or misdirects his passes? ...too often his shots/passes on goal goes slowly to goal when he tries for firmer passes?)

...did you have lessons on penalty-area markings and various positions along those marks relative to the goal? ...how such assists on 'blind passes' on goal?

Even the very, very young quickly grasps the concept of passing around opposing players using TEAM-mate! ...when and how did you learn and practice that 'keep way'?

Simple stuff...

Simple stuff you will notice our national teams fail at!!!! ...consistently fail at!!!