• Muadib
    replied
    Yuh have artists and yuh have artists...

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    My point is artists from time to time very controversial songs in some quarters but they are able to rise above it. Boom Bye Bye is only one such song.

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    Again it is not about Me. I have no problem with the songs. People from different culture and with their own agenda however do and it create a controversy.

What does that have to do with me and my brain?

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    LOL @ first line..

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    It is a rhetorical question..

Meant to stimulate thought process in a clearly fixated and blinkered state of mind.

Methinks I might be too optimistic.

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    I'm sorry I asked!

In any case, how does this song compare with a Boom Bye Bye? And did you miss the part in the the Sherriff song where Bob claims it was self-defence?

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    Your parting shot tactics in retreat needs work.

Leave a comment:

• Sir X
    replied
    You need to answer that , you brought it up!I asked the question 1st.

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    What does sexual orientation have to do with 'Philosophy' ?

Yuh know what yuh fighting gainst ? or you just a fling bomb inna crowd ?

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    well when playing Cowboys and Indians.. Elton was always the Sheriff (him like di handcuffs ting)

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    Big Dipper (Elton John song)

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Jump to: navigation, search
    "Big Dipper""Big Dipper" coverSong by Elton John from the album A Single Man
    ReleasedOctober 16, 1978RecordedJanuary-September 1978GenreDance hall, PopLength4:04LabelMCA (US/Canada)
    Rocket RecordsWriterElton John, Gary OsborneProducerClive Franks, Elton JohnA Single Man track listing"I Don't Care"
    (3)"Big Dipper"
    (4)"It Ain't Gonna Be Easy"
    (5)Big Dipper is a song by Elton John with lyrics by Gary Osborne. It is the fourth track off his 1978 album, "A Single Man". It gained notice for not being included on the Russian release of the album due to the meaning of the song.
    [edit] Musical structure

The music is not reminiscent of anything else that John has ever done. The main part of the song is a jaunting piano joined by a New Orleans-inspired jazz horn section. The drum and pass pattern also follows this, making it sound like something that could easily be ragtime. The backing vocals on this song is John's then-owned football team, Watford F.C.. This is one out of their two appearances on this album.
    The last verse is adapted from an old classic, "Makin' Whoopee".
    [edit] Lyrical meaning

It was banned when released in the Soviet Union along with another song, Part-Time Love. The song could tell about a man looking for love with a sailor, using "Big Dipper" (Which in the British slang is a rollercoaster, and an asterism in the American language) as a substitute for a penis. The sailor says he can't handle anymore, so the man "filled him up with all kinds of stuff to relax him". This could symbolize that a drug rape was taking action. The third verse opens with "He hadn't been to keen at the start - now he seems to have a change of heart", indicating that the sailor finds out about his homosexuality, and therefore continues his relationship. The song ends fading out with the line: "Another ride, another tune, another crazy afternoon, another reason for squeezin' your big dipper".
    It is highly a controversial issue to put in a song at that time, but since the album nor the song gained any notice, it didn't gain controversy.

Leave a comment:

• Sir X
    replied
    Peodophiles and sexploiters of kids are part of that philosophy, this isnt France....lol and dem government a fall..babylon a fall unda its sexploiting sword....funny a minister being demonstrated against with calls of leave my kids alone...no doubt its a rigt wing conservative attack

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    "In studying the virulence and tenacity of anti-gay feelings, psychologists are finding clues to the deeper sources of homophobia. The new findings confirm the theory that some men use hostility and violence to homosexuals to reassure themselves about their own sexuality. But the greatest portion of anti-homosexual bias, psychologists now say, arises from a combination of fear and self-righteousness in which homosexuals are perceived as contemptible threats to the moral universe."

Where yuh fall ?

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    confused. what does that have to do with elton john?

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    do you have your owna brain?

Leave a comment: