Now people lets hear it.

• Now people lets hear it.

4 Tops or the Temptations? The Bittah1 call mi a flip flopper and all weekend end I've been flip flopping.

Suh lets hear it.

the temptations with ruffin and kendricks.

Yep! Any other combo is knock-off Temps!

Maybe I need to search for Temptations with those 2 then. Thanks.

Here is some help:

The "Classic Five" Era of the Temptations:

Melvin Franklin, Eddie Kendricks, Otis Williams, Paul Williams, and David Ruffin.

In January 1964, Smokey Robinson and Miracles bandmate Bobby Rogers co-wrote and produced "The Way You Do the Things You Do" with Eddie Kendricks on lead. The single became the Temptations' first Top 20 hit that April. "The Way You Do The Things You Do" and several pre-David Ruffin singles were compiled onto the group's first album, Meet The Temptations, released in 1964. Kendricks led on the next two Temptations singles in 1964, "I'll Be in Trouble" and its better-known b-side "The Girl's Alright With Me", which Kendricks co-wrote, and "Girl (Why You Wanna Make Me Blue)". Producer Smokey Robinson saw potential in David Ruffin, thought that if he could write the perfect song for Ruffin's "mellow" yet "gruff" lead singing voice, then the group could have a hit.[13]

While traveling as part of Motown's Motortown Revue later that year Robinson and another fellow Miracle, Ronnie White, wrote "My Girl", which Ruffin and the group recorded in the fall of 1964. Released as a single on December 24, 1964, "My Girl", became the Temptations' first number-one pop hit in March 1965, and is their signature song to this day.

After the success of "My Girl", Ruffin sang lead on the next three Temptations singles: "It's Growing", "Since I Lost My Baby" and "My Baby", all of which made it to the Top 20 in 1965. The b-side to "My Baby", "Don’t Look Back", featured a stirring lead from Paul Williams, and was a sleeper hit on the R&B charts and a standard for vocal groups playlists.

Norman Whitfield had requested the opportunity to write for the group. In 1966, he was given the opportunity- should Robinson's "Get Ready" with Eddie Kendricks on lead fail to chart in the Top 20, the next song would be his. "Get Ready" missed the mark, and Whitfield's Ruffin-led "Ain't Too Proud to Beg" was released. The song did well, and Whitfield was made the group's main producer. He began pushing the group away from Robinson's ballad-based production towards a harder-edged and brass-heavy soul sound reminiscent of the work of James Brown.

Nearly all of the pre-1968 Whitfield-produced Temptations singles featured David Ruffin on lead vocals, including the R&B number-one/pop Top 10 hits "Beauty Is Only Skin Deep" and "(I Know) I'm Losing You" and the 1967 hit "(Loneliness Made Me Realize) It's You That I Need". Other important singles from this period included the incredibly popular, "You're My Everything", on which Kendricks and Ruffin share lead vocals, and "All I Need", produced by Whitfield's protégé Frank Wilson. Studio albums during the "Classic Five" period apart from Meet The Temptations include The Temptations Sing Smokey (1965), The Temptin' Temptations (1965), Gettin' Ready (1966), The Temptations with a Lot o' Soul (1967), and The Temptations Wish It Would Rain (1968).

"I Want To Pay You Back" is one of my favourite Tempations chunes!

er...that is the stylistics

erm...are you sure now?

I think that was the Stylistics. To me the Temp classic was 'Just My Imagination". Running away with me. does anyone know who sang lead on that. I don't think it was the great DaVID Ruffen.

Eddie Kendricks. The last hit he sang lead on before he left the group.

search fi wha? If you nuh kno them nuh boddah...

LOL!

what yuh laffing bout? mind yuh know!

search fi wha? If you nuh kno them nuh boddah...
                            When yuh hear a Change tune yuh tell yuhself its Change wid Luther Vandross or without?

When I listen Temptations I just listen, I don't differentiate between the various eras.

The fact you dont know Stylistics from Manhattans and deh push up inna big (tall?) people argument.

Wonder Woman is one of my faves by Stylistics..I recall my first job out of high school was at the now defunct Radio West and Stylistics had come to MoBay for a show at Disco Inferno and they came to the studio to do some interviews.

I recall standing beside the light skinned one with the high pitch- Russell Tomkins Jr as he was warming up his voice and singing few lines of Wonder Woman...clean and clear like crystal