Spoken like a true Man U man , X look down on who, X was a big time break dancer , danced at ardenne bbq, doesnt excuse the badness or madness , you cant compare the late 80s /90s to the present .Shabba & Cat were my rude boy idols .
This generation deh pan a defeatist path , dem youth a embrace genocide with happiness, when a DJ can promote bleaching as in line with Marcus Garvey teaching , its a mark of the dangerous times we live in...promote it and accepted by some.As for the tight up pance and di competition wid di girl dem fi clothes?
Not in my days ! wi on the tipping point.........Gaza mi say ! or Bleach mi say.
Dont excuse the negative message in the music as a fashion statement , it is a social statement and it is being promoted and glorified as the norm, in society.DECADANT !STAGNANT ! BACKWARD!
This should never be.Our emphasis needs to be on education.Not bleaching, this is where we are ?where dancing hall culture is accepting of this MJ(bleacher) Duppy Vybz !I remembered when dancehall bun dat out .
Sorry boss I cannot accept the promotion of an uneducated society through music.Dont confuse the two subjects.
HL, wi culture a run di place
Ok, I am very late into this argument. X, MadamX and all the opponents of Dancehall, you are all chatting a bag of rubbish (don't take it personal...we juss debating here). The music is, and always will be a reflection of the time and the masses. Dancehall, which has evolved from Mento, Ska, Rock Steady and Reggae will always be looked down on by the "sophisticated" and the "educated" section of our soceity, because it was borne out of poor black people. Ska and Reggae were not readily embraced by "educated" Jamaicans until our artistes like Bob Marley went overseas and white people started to like it. I remember when Reggae was not played on the radio on Sundays.....until Irie FM came into being. Those very songs of the 60's, 70's and 80's that we call classics now, were scoffed upon by our elders. Back in the days, dance moves like the ska, rub-a-dub, cool & deadly were frown upon. MadamX, me know seh you did puddung your fair share a bubbling inna your days. Dance styles are just youngsters expressing themselves. Whereas, I don't care for some of these latest moves, like the daggering which is taking things too far, there is absolutely nothing wrong with most of them, regardless of how silly they may look. It is a serious flaw within us Jamaicans, that we don't give credit to our own until the white foreigner says that it's ok. We skin our teet when these same white foreigners say, "Oh, I went to Jamaica and it was so lovely. The food and the people were so nice. I love that dish with the scrambled eggs with the codfish and johnnycakes". We feel that sense of pride and talk up a storm trying to educate them about our culture and showing them the good in Jamaica.
The fashion comes with the lifestyle and the music. Just like hip-hop; just like disco; just like salsa. Men wearing tight-up clothes has been around from ever since. During the disco era, the men wore their pants so tight you could see dem seed bags.
It's a wonder how more fires never got started in the night clubs with all those polyester rubbing together. I remember back in high school, I went through the fashion phases as well. First it was the "bad man" phase wearing "lengths". This was in the early 80's coming out of the disco era. The pants were tight up top but flared from the hips, unlike the disco pants which flared at the knees. Then I went through the hip-hop/breakdancing/Michael Jackson era. I used to stitch my pants foot in until it tapered at the ankles - the "gun-mouth style". Of course the hairstyles also changed with the times. The 70's was "the souls"; the 80's, I moved from "the napoleon", to "tony C". The 90's, the fades, which evolved into the the fades with the zigzag lines. I even remember the days of the mohawks which everybody is wearing now. Back then, as a young person, X, you would have looked down on me and my friends/crew because we dressed like that and could do every one of those dance moves.
X, Hip-Hop is a perfect similarity to our Danchall and look where it is now. It is a billion dollar industry and turning untalented people into overnight millionaires. I wish the Jamaican government could somehow figure out a way to capitalise, financially, on our dancehall culture. I am glad to see, as HL said, our youngsters and dancehall practioners finally figuring out and creating choreographed movements to our music. Like hip-hop, there will never be any one technique to learn because it is that dynamic. Step aside Fox Trot, Waltz, Samba and Rhumba, Dancehall just entered the party.
Last edited by Jangle; July 28, 2011, 11:18 PM.
Leave a comment:
Notten don't wrong wid the dancing, and the dressing start from bout ten years now, european dressing tek over from hip hop , even the rappers a feature europen design, the problem is dem set dem self a way wid di bag a bleaching an overreliance on designer wear when dancehall used to be about originality, fashion over style missa wacky say
Leave a comment:
Di bordah still intact.. stay deh..
wi juss ah create ah uppah-uptown..
Leave a comment:
Dont know if is true but to hear the ignorance and superficial nonsense that comes out of their mouth , i would not put it pass them.
Leave a comment:
man really go inna di woman dem store and buy dem tings? mi find dat hard fi believe.
oh, you know what, a town dem buy tings deh, so dem peoples a town set dem up. i see now!
Leave a comment:
Mdme x....my laaawd.....mi see one a walk down rockaway bld inna canarsie tight up pants pan im cell , hands snapping ,flaming queen wid big jamaican accent a discuss im/har bashment di night before..mi swear if im eye dem did meet mine a war.......mi juss press pan my gas ....
Mi shame bad.....Sass say dem sexy .....lol..
Leave a comment:
Originally posted by X View PostI am wondering if we need a S.O.E for this
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GCaXI...eature=related
I honestly believe Jamaica needs 50 years of a cuban style educational system.Dancing and dancehall is wrecking the island, mi serious.Boss i am embarrased at the clowns (youths) that I see migrating to new york....dem a wear clothes tighta dan woman, and a bleach and the focus is clubbing and B.S ....
!
X - I understand that is woman pants a lot of them wearing.
Leave a comment:
I share your view on this too X. Is this all we are exporting...........?
With the deepening negative Jamaican events since the beginning of this year...the Dancing with the stars event gives a somewhat "sweet" taste to offset the squalor that the country has sunk into.
I dug very deep to see (ONLY) the positives in the event.....
But i agree...is this all there is...?
Leave a comment:
Old time talk dat. As long as dem keep it below Liguanea!Originally posted by Muadib View Postit is okay for japanese and europeans to practise it.. not so much the class of people in Jamaica that created it... well its ok as long as the keep it below half-way-tree.. please !
Leave a comment:
Yuh think a only Japanese and European wi a export it tuh ?..all Panama
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SPtgW...eature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qr1GI...eature=related
Leave a comment:
BTW how yuh classify sexy ? man inna dat to ?........mi ave a serious problem wid dat.....dem man deh a try too hard .
Leave a comment:
Nothing wrong wid it , the question is that all we are exporting ? Dancehall music and dancers ?
This generation of immigrants seem to be more intellectually gifted in dance and halls!
Every year we have a batch of interns at my hospitals for the past 7 years , i can count the Jamaicans on 2 fingers, the Hatians on two hands.The trinis on 1 .
Leave a comment: